



OSCE Permanent Council Nr 969 Vienna, 31 October 2013

EU statement on the presidential election in Georgia

The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Permanent Council to the joint statement issued on 28 October by the EU High Representative, Catherine Ashton and by Commissioner Štefan Füle in which they congratulated the Georgian people for using the polls to demonstrate their country's strong democratic credentials.

The European Union congratulates Mr. Giorgi Margvelashvili on his victory in the presidential election on 27 October, and looks forward to working with him in the future. The newly elected President will have an important task of building national unity at a time of constitutional changes. The European Union welcomes the statements by the outgoing President, Mikheil Saakashvili, and presidential candidate, Davit Bakradze in accepting the election result. We call on all political forces of the country to continue working together to achieve Georgia's ambitious programme of reforms and institution building.

The European Union welcomes the preliminary report of the OSCE/ODIHR-led International Election Observation Mission, which considered that the conduct of the presidential election was efficiently administered, transparent and took place in an amicable and constructive environment. We also positively note that the fundamental freedoms of expression, movement and assembly were respected, and candidates were able to campaign without restriction. At the same time, we encourage the authorities to investigate allegations of political pressure on opposition representatives at the local level as mentioned in the preliminary report. We look forward to the OSCE/ODIHR's final report and we encourage the relevant Georgian authorities to implement its recommendations.

With this election, Georgia has taken a concrete step in meeting OSCE commitments. On the eve of the Eastern Partnership Summit in Vilnius, we look forward to continued close co-operation with Georgia on our ambitious mutual agenda of political association and economic integration.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+ and SERBIA*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates ALBANIA and BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of MOLDOVA align themselves with this statement.

- * The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.