

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Permanent Council PC.JOUR/1085 14 January 2016

Chairmanship: Germany

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE PERMANENT COUNCIL (1085th Plenary Meeting)

1. <u>Date</u>: Thursday, 14 January 2016

 Opened:
 2.05 p.m.

 Closed:
 4.50 p.m.

2. <u>Chairperson</u>: Ambassador E. Pohl

The Chairperson-in-Office, the Netherlands-European Union, Ukraine, Switzerland, Russian Federation, Canada, Georgia, the United States of America, Norway, Moldova, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Serbia, Turkmenistan, Mongolia, Liechtenstein, the Holy See, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Armenia, Austria, France, Japan (Partner for Co-operation), the Republic of Korea (Partner for Co-operation), Jordan (Partner for Co-operation), Egypt (Partner for Co-operation), Australia (Partner for Co-operation) and the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly condemned the terrorist attacks in Istanbul, Turkey, on 12 January 2016 and expressed condolences to the families of the victims. Japan (Partner for Co-operation), the Republic of Korea (Partner for Co-operation), Jordan (Partner for Co-operation) and Egypt (Partner for Co-operation also condemned the terrorist attacks in Jakarta, Indonesia, on 14 January 2016 and expressed condolences to the families of the victims. Turkey and the Chairperson-in-Office thanked the delegations for these expressions of sympathy.

3. <u>Subjects discussed – Statements – Decisions/documents adopted:</u>

Agenda item 1: ADDRESS BY THE CHAIRPERSON-IN-OFFICE OF THE OSCE, MINISTER FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS OF GERMANY, H.E. FRANK-WALTER STEINMEIER

Chairperson, Chairperson-in-Office (CIO.GAL/2/16), Netherlands-European Union (with the candidate countries Albania, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro; the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate country Bosnia and Herzegovina; the European Free Trade Association country Iceland, member of the European Economic Area; as well as Andorra, Georgia, Moldova, San Marino and Ukraine, in alignment) (PC.DEL/7/16/Rev.1), Ukraine (PC.DEL/11/16), Switzerland, Russian Federation (PC.DEL/18/16), Turkey (PC.DEL/14/16 OSCE+), Canada, Georgia (PC.DEL/21/16 OSCE+), United States of America (PC.DEL/13/16/Corr.1), Norway (PC.DEL/22/16), Moldova, Azerbaijan (PC.DEL/10/16 OSCE+), Belarus (PC.DEL/15/16 OSCE+), Kazakhstan, Serbia (PC.DEL/23/16 OSCE+), Turkmenistan, Mongolia (PC.DEL/17/16 OSCE+), Liechtenstein, Holy See (PC.DEL/8/16 OSCE+), Bosnia and Herzegovina (PC.DEL/12/16 OSCE+), Armenia (PC.DEL/16/16), Austria (PC.DEL/25/16 OSCE+), France (PC.DEL/9/16 OSCE+), Japan (Partner for Co-operation) (PC.DEL/19/16 OSCE+), Republic of Korea (Partner for Co-operation) (PC.DEL/4/16 OSCE+), Jordan (Partner for Co-operation), Egypt (Partner for Co-operation), Australia (Partner for Co-operation), OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, Special Representative of Germany for the OSCE Chairmanship in 2016

Agenda item 2: REVIEW OF CURRENT ISSUES

None

Agenda item 3: ANY OTHER BUSINESS

None

4. <u>Next meeting</u>:

Thursday, 21 January 2016, at 10 a.m., in the Neuer Saal