The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States.

PC.DEL/303/25 27 March 2025

ENGLISH Original: FRENCH

STATEMENT BY THE EUROPEAN UNION AT THE 1513th (SPECIAL) MEETING OF THE OSCE PERMANENT COUNCIL

26 March 2025

In response to the address by the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Armenia, H.E. Mr. Robert Abisoghomonyan

The European Union extends a warm welcome to the Deputy Foreign Minister of Armenia, His Excellency Mr. Robert Abisoghomonyan, to the Permanent Council and thanks him for his address.

We appreciate the Republic of Armenia's steadfast commitment to European values, which has been unequivocally demonstrated in recent years.

The European Union welcomes the respective announcements made by Armenia and Azerbaijan on the finalization of their negotiations on the draft agreement on peace and the establishment of inter-State relations.

We congratulate both parties for the persistent efforts they have made in this regard in recent years, both bilaterally and with the participation of the international community.

We are convinced that the agreement and the implementation thereof will be a decisive step towards the South Caucasus becoming a region of lasting peace and security, integration and co-operation, with open borders, for the benefit of all the peoples of the region.

It is essential to maintain this momentum to ensure that this process is carried out smoothly. The European Union calls for the signing and ratification of the peace treaty to take place as soon as possible.

The European Union fully supports the normalization process between Armenia and Azerbaijan and stands ready to provide additional support and expertise if requested by the parties.

Albania, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Iceland, Montenegro, North Macedonia, the Republic of Moldova, San Marino, Serbia and Ukraine align themselves with this statement.