



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No 1070 Vienna, 8 October 2015

EU Statement on Parliamentary Elections in Kyrgyzstan

The Parliamentary elections on 4 October in the Kyrgyz Republic mark an important step in the country's continuing transition towards parliamentary democracy. Following efforts by the national authorities to improve the electoral process, the elections were competitive, orderly and peaceful. The active participation of the people of the Kyrgyz Republic confirmed their support for parliamentary democracy.

The European Union takes note of the preliminary findings and conclusions of the joint International Election Observation Mission of the OSCE/ODIHR, OSCE PA, Council of Europe PA and European Parliament, which praise the free choice among a wide range of candidates from 14 political parties. At the same time, the Observation Mission highlighted the need for improved procedures and transparency, in particular regarding inclusiveness of voter lists, ballot secrecy and vote counting.

We look forward to the comprehensive final report and recommendations to be issued by OSCE/ODIHR in due course. Ahead of the upcoming municipal and presidential elections of 2016 and 2017, we encourage the Kyrgyz authorities to respond to these findings and the recommendations in ODIHR's final report. The European Union is preparing a EUR 13 million programme to further support the improvement of the electoral process in Kyrgyzstan.

As a long-standing partner of the Kyrgyz Republic, the European Union remains committed to support the newly elected Government in its work to promote the country's social and economic development, good governance, the rule of law, further democratic development and respect for human rights obligations.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, GEORGIA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.