PC.DEL/965/10 12 October 2010



ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 831 Vienna, 12 October 2010

EU statement on Tajikistan

The European Union would like to express its concern about the deterioration of the security situation in Tajikistan following numerous violent incidents that have taken place over the past two months in particular the recent events in the Rasht Valley.

We commend the OSCE Office in Tajikistan for issuing ten factual and comprehensive Spot Reports since the end of August drawing our attention to these incidents. We very much value this reporting which reinforces the OSCE's early warning and conflict prevention roles.

We express our condolences to the families and friends of the victims of those tragic incidents.

The European Union supports the government of Tajikistan's efforts to ensure the security and stability of the country. We recognise the considerable challenge this presents. At the same time, we remind the Tajik authorities of the need to conduct their activities in accordance with OSCE commitments, not least in respect of human rights, fundamental freedoms, especially the freedom of speech, and the rule of law.

We express our strong support for the work the OSCE Office is doing to increase Tajikistan's security and stability. In the context of these recent events, we also wish to underline the value of the Office's activities designed to help the Tajik authorities to combat violent extremism and radicalisation, to implement the National Border Strategy and to improve cross border co-operation with its neighbouring States. We encourage the Tajik authorities to work closely with the OSCE Office on this matter and to exchange information on the current situation.

The candidate countries TURKEY, CROATIA*, the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA* and ICELAND, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries ALBANIA, BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA, MONTENEGRO and SERBIA, the European Free Trade Association country and member of the European Economic Area NORWAY, as well as the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

*Croatia and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

** Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and the European Economic Area.